Joan Eliasek's Biography

Early Career and Education

Joan Eliasek began her professional journey after completing her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Business Administration at the University of Iowa. Her early career included multiple management positions in field operations at Baxter Healthcare Corporation, where she gained significant experience in healthcare manufacturing and distribution1.

Industry Start and Career Progression

Eliasek's first notable entry into the industry she is known for today was with McKesson Corporation in 1995. Over the years, she has held various leadership roles within the company, including operations, sales, marketing, and supplier management. Prior to her current role, she served as Senior Vice President, Customer Experience, for McKesson's Medical-Surgical business unit, and before that, as Senior Vice President of Extended Care Sales1.

Leadership at McKesson Canada

In her current role as President of McKesson Canada, Eliasek leads a portfolio of businesses including pharmaceutical distribution operations, McKesson Canada Specialty Health, and a network of independent pharmacies. She has been instrumental in the strategic retooling of Rexall Pharmacy Group, which is part of McKesson's Canadian footprint, and has overseen initiatives such as the launch of the Be Well loyalty program1 2.

Recognition and Community Involvement

Eliasek has been recognized for her leadership and contributions to the healthcare industry. She was the first recipient of the Anne Eiting Klamar Leadership Award of Distinction by Professional Women in Healthcare (PWH) in 2018. Additionally, she has served on several boards, including the Healthcare Industry Distributors Association (HIDA), HIDA Educational Foundation, and Global Healthcare Exchange, and has been a long-time advisor to the PWH board1 3.

Eliasek's commitment to the industry and her role in shaping the future of healthcare distribution in Canada continue to be acknowledged, as evidenced by her induction into the 2023 Medical Distribution Hall of Fame4.



  1. 2 3 4